LANSING, Mich. – Flint families may get nutritious food that can limit the effect of lead exposure during mobile food pantry hours set for April and May at locations throughout Flint.

The Food Bank of Eastern Michigan in Flint and the Michigan Department of Health and Human Services are announcing the April and May schedule for mobile food pantry stops to distribute foods rich in calcium, vitamin C and iron.

An average of 400 families will receive food with each distribution. Each family will receive nutritional food such as tuna, baked beans, potatoes, cereal and fresh apples, peppers and tomatoes. The program began in February and is being paid for as part of Gov. Rick Snyder’s $28 million supplemental budget request signed in late January.

Food distribution sites remain open while supplies last. Upcoming dates are:

Saturday, April 2, at 11 a.m. – Flint Islamic Center, 4400 S. Saginaw St.
Tuesday, April 5, at noon – North End Soup Kitchen, 735 E. Stewart Ave.
Thursday, April 7, at 9 a.m. – Flint First Wesleyan Church, 3825 Davison Road.
Thursday, April 7, at 4 p.m. – West Court Street Church of God, 2920 W. Court St.
Friday, April 8, at 4 p.m. – Vermont Christian Church, 1201 Lippincott Blvd.
Wednesday, April 13, at noon – North Central Church of Christ, 2001 N. Saginaw St.
Wednesday, April 13, at 1 p.m. – New Birth Church, 3918 Blackington Ave.
Thursday, April 14, at noon – Faith Gospel Temple, 1525 Kent. St.
Friday, April 15, at noon – St. Luke New Life Center, 3115 Lawndale.
Tuesday, April 19, at noon – Dort Oak Park, 4601 Clio Road.
Wednesday, April 20, at 11 a.m. – Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 Ballenger Highway.
Thursday, April 21, at noon – Metropolitan Baptist Church, 930 E. Myrtle Ave.
Friday, April 22, at 11 a.m. – Greater Holy Temple, 6702 N. Dort Highway.
Tuesday, April 26, at 1 p.m. – Richfield Academy, 3807 Center Road.
Wednesday, April 27, at 1 p.m. – Salem Lutheran Church, 2610 Martin Luther King Ave.
Thursday, April 28, at noon – Carriage Town Ministries, 305 Garland Ave.
Friday, April 29, at noon – My Brother’s Keeper, 101 N. Grand Traverse Blvd.
Tuesday, May 3, at noon – Church Without Walls, 6202 Dupont St.
Wednesday, May 4, at noon – Prince of Peace Missionary Baptist Church, 1417 N. Stevenson St.
Thursday, May 5, at noon – Bethel United Methodist Church, 1309 Ballenger Highway.
Friday, May 6, at noon – Hispanic Tech Center, 2101 Lewis. St.
Tuesday, May 10, at noon – No Greater Faith Missionary Baptist Church, 778 E. Holbrook Ave.
Wednesday, May 11, at 11 a.m. – Flint Islamic Center, 4400 S. Saginaw St.
Thursday, May 12, at noon – Faith Gospel Temple, 1525 Kent. St.
Saturday, May 14, at 9 a.m. – Flint First Wesleyan Church, 3825 Davison Road.
Tuesday, May 17, at noon – North End Soup Kitchen, 735 E. Stewart Ave.
Wednesday, May 18, at 4 p.m. – West Court Street Church of God, 2920 W. Court St.
Friday, May 20, at 4 p.m. – Vermont Christian Church, 1201 Lippincott Blvd.
Saturday, May 21, at noon – Grace Emmanuel Baptist Church, 3502 Lapeer Road.
Tuesday, May 24, at noon – North Central Church of Christ, 2001 N. Saginaw St.
Wednesday, May 25, at 1 p.m. – New Birth Church, 3918 Blackington Ave.
Thursday, May 26, at 1 p.m. – Richfield Academy, 3807 Center Road.
Friday, May 27, at noon – My Brother’s Keeper, 101 N. Grand Traverse Blvd.
Tuesday, May 31, at noon – Carriage Town Ministries, 305 Garland Ave.

Information about additional food distribution dates will be announced as they are scheduled. For more information, visit the Food Bank website at www.FBEM.org or call 810-239-4441.


Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ
Click To Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ