U.S. Senator Debbie Stabenow announced today that she has nominated 52 Michigan students for placement at the U.S. Military Academy at West Point, NY, the U.S. Naval Academy in Annapolis, MD, the U.S. Air Force Academy in Colorado Springs, CO, and the U.S. Merchant Marine Academy in Kings Point, NY.
‘I’m proud to see so many exceptional students from Michigan want to serve our country through military service,’ said Senator Stabenow. ‘Having demonstrated a strong commitment to excellence in and out of the classroom, I know that they will represent Michigan and our country well.’
Students seeking appointment to a service academy must first obtain the nomination of their U.S. Senator, their U.S. Representative, or the Vice President. Students nominated by Senator Stabenow’s office went through a competitive application process that included interviews by community leaders. Now that the students have been nominated, they must await acceptance for admission by the academy to which they have applied.
The following students have been nominated by Senator Stabenow to a service academy (by region):
West Michigan:
Kaylie Butt – Portage, Naval AcademyDaniel Christensen – Augusta, Air Force Academy Blake Driscol – Grand Rapids, Naval AcademyZachary Hoiles – Grand Rapids, West PointSamantha Price – Marshall, Air Force AcademyJeremy Schwartz – Grand Rapids, Air Force AcademyPeter Sinkovitz – Richland, Naval AcademyZachary Winzer – North Muskegon, Merchant Marine AcademyPeter Woudenberg – Holland, West Point
Southeast Michigan:
Kyle Abraham – Northville, Air Force AcademySpencer Barlow – Troy, Air Force AcademyAndrew Belanger – South Lyon, West PointRyan Brand – Novi, Air Force AcademyAlexandra Davis – Canton, West PointJoseph Dowler – Beverly Hills, Naval AcademyBenjamin Finnegan – South Lyon, Naval Academy Jacob Franchak – White Lake, Air Force AcademyBenjamin George – Wixom, Naval AcademyAndrew Greidanus – Franklin, West PointLauren Hudak -Bloomfield Hills, West PointSean Kirchner – Newport, West PointSean Krasovic – Rochester Hills, Air Force AcademyMichael Landuyt – Grosse Pointe Park, Naval AcademyAndrew Lang – Livonia, Merchant Marine AcademyDaniel Lindauer – Chelsea, Naval AcademySean McCullough – Northville, Naval AcademyJoel Moriarty – Canton, Air Force AcademyRobert Niehof – West Bloomfield, West PointChristopher Nodland – Bloomfield Hills, Air Force AcademyCasey O’Brien – Troy, Naval AcademyDominic Perrin – South Lyon, Naval AcademyConor Ryan – Redford, Naval AcademyMadeline Reynolds – Clarkston, Naval AcademyCarlie Sleeman – Pinckney, West PointJohn Solimanto – Redford , Air Force AcademyBenjamin Stanz – Canton, Air Force AcademyKohsuke Tashiro – Bloomfield Hills, Naval AcademyNicholas Tottis – West Bloomfield, Naval AcademyColin Zavislak – Royal Oak, Air Force Academy
Upper Peninsula:
Adam Loman – Ishpeming, Air Force AcademyJustin Waligora – Gladstone, Air Force Academy
Northern Michigan:
Erik Anton – Suttons Bay, Naval AcademyJared Byers – Petoskey, Naval AcademyPaige Cooley – Traverse City, Air Force AcademyJeffrey Linenger – Suttons Bay, Naval Academy Erin McDonnell – Traverse City, Naval Academy
Seth Killian – Jackson, Air Force AcademyMatthew Stamler – Jackson, Naval AcademyFlint/Saginaw/Bay Area:
Ryan Comrie – Owosso, Air Force AcademyKyle Daley – Owosso, Air Force AcademyRavdeep Dhingra – Midland, West PointTrace Sheerin – Goodrich, Air Force Academy

Read more here::

Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ
Click To Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ