U.S. Senators Debbie Stabenow and Carl Levin today announced that Michigan counties will receive millions of dollars of support made possible through the bipartisan 2014 Farm Bill. The $4.6 million in federal Payments In Lieu of Taxes (PILT) will offset the loss of property tax revenue from nontaxable federal property, such as National Forests.
‘Thanks to the bipartisan Farm Bill passed earlier this year, communities across Michigan can count on this important funding to pay for roads, police and fire protection and other critical local services,’ Stabenow said. ‘This will help ensure the continuing partnership between our local communities and our National Forests and other federal lands that contribute so much to our Michigan way of life.’
‘Federal protection for national parks, forests and other federal land is important to Michigan’s economy and the environment, and these payments allow us to protect these resources while reducing the financial burden on local communities,’ Levin said.
When Congress passed its spending bill last year, it did not include PILT, meaning communities across the country would not have been paid. Senator Stabenow’s bipartisan 2014 Farm Bill included a one-year extension of PILT to ensure local communities in Michigan and across the country would get the payments they deserve.
Senator Levin voted for the Farm Bill and attended the ceremony when President Obama signed the 2014 Farm Bill in Michigan earlier this year.
Under the PILT Program, the Department of Interior reimburses county governments based on a formula that includes the amount of federal land within their boundaries and county population. Types of federal land used in the formula include national forest and national park land, Bureau of Land Management land and areas affected by Army Corps of Engineers and Bureau of Reclamation projects.
See below for the county-by-county breakdown of 2014 payments to Michigan counties:
County, PILT paymentAlcona County: $101,699 Alger County: $285,378 Baraga County: $70,139 Benzie Count0y: $21,545 Chippewa County: $264,587 Crawford County: $60,804 Delta County: $362,624 Gogebic County: $529,679 Houghton County: $297,246 Iosco County: $125,344 Iron County: $352,306 Keweenaw County: $338,782 Lake County: $174,556 Leelanau County: $113,368 Mackinac County: $88,446 Manistee County: $116,357 Marquette County: $39,572 Mason County: $107,664 Mecosta County: $2,586 Montcalm County: $3,530 Muskegon County: $28,206 Newaygo County: $123,167 Oceana County: $77,026 Ogemaw County: $2,127 Ontonagon County: $492,449 Oscoda County: $115,763 Schoolcraft County: $209,395 Wayne County: $3,075 Wexford County: $103,825 Total: $4,611,245

Read more here: Senators Stabenow and Levin Announce Millions of Dollars in PILT Payments for Michigan Counties

Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ
Click To Submit Press Releases, News, Calendar Items, and Community Events to Great Lakes Radio Stations WFXD, WKQS, WRUP, WQXO, and WPIQ